Entry Guidelines for the
2008 Kurt Vonnegut Fiction Prize
First Prize $1000    Second $100    Third $50
Winners will be published in the North American Review.
Deadline: December 31, 2007 (must be postmarked by)
Entry fee: $18.00 (includes a one-year subscription). Make your check or money order out to North American Review. If you are outside the US, please make sure the entry fee is in US currency and routed through a US bank.
Rules: Two copies of one story (7000 words maximum). No names on manuscripts. Include cover sheet with name, address, phone, e-mail, title. Story must be unpublished and not under consideration for publication elsewhere. Simultaneous submission is not allowed. Stories will not be returned, so please don't send an SASE (self-addressed stamped envelope) for return.
For acknowledgment of receipt, please include a self-addressed, stamped postcard. If you wish to receive the list of winners, please include a business-size SASE. Winners will also be announced on this website and in the writers' trade magazines.
Send entries to:
Kurt Vonnegut Fiction Prize
North American Review (WS)
University of Northern Iowa
1222 W. 27th Street
Cedar Falls, IA 50614-0516
E-mail <nar@uni.edu>
or phone (319) 273-6455 or send a fax to (319) 273-4326.
Welcome to My Site
The Annual Kurt Vonnegut Fiction Prize
The legendary Kurt Vonnegut has written dozens of books, including celebrated novels like Breakfast of Champions and Slaughterhouse Five. He has been a frequent contributor to the North American Review. Vonnegut’s latest book, God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian, explores mortality and the afterlife with his trademark blend of science fiction, satire and social observation.
Cover of the NAR (September/October 1997), illustrated by Kurt Vonnegut
the NAR is published by the university of northern iowa